Meet the Co-Presenters of our Creative Radio Skills Masterclass

We’ve interviewed Presenter Andy Martindale who hosts the weekend breakfast show on Free Radio in Coventry & Warwickshire and Free Radio Herefordshire & Worcestershire’s Content Manager and Producer Tom Reeves for this post. The pair will be ‘co-presenting’ our Creative Radio Skills Masterclass on 14th April from our industry standard radio studios in central Birmingham.mics
1. When did you know you wanted to be a radio presenter/producer?
A: I always had an interest in listening to the radio when I was at school, however I actually wanted to be a chef as a career. This changed when a friend of the family invited me into his show at the local hospital radio. I soon caught the bug!
T: I came across radio first at University in Swansea. I was reading Economics & Politics but saw the radio station at the Fresher’s Fayre and well they seemed to be having a LOT of fun. That was it. I was into it but I never EVER thought I’d get a break and get into the industry. It just seemed so tough.

2. What was your route into radio, and what was your first big break?
A: My first paid radio job was reading sport results on a Saturday afternoon at Wave 105 in Hampshire. From there, I managed to get on air as a presenter.
T: I sent off a LOAD of demo tapes before going travelling after graduating in 2001. I came back after 3 months much poorer and to a load of rejection letters. Whilst I got a job to pay my mum some rent I approached my local commercial radio station, Red Dragon FM, and asked for work experience. They also had a few jobs going there too: News, script writer – I applied for them all! Eventually the PC, David Rees, called me and asked me if he let me come in and help out, would I PLEASE stop sending him letters? That was my in. A lot of dogs body jobs, tea making and endless hours later (plus 18 months of free work!) and I got a part time position as Programming Assistant!

3. What does a typical day look like for you?
A: I generally will arrive at the radio studios at least an hour before my radio programme. However, I will generally always be thinking on the day what would make good content for the show. I check websites, watch the news, check what people are talking about on social media. So planning for a radio show actually takes quite a few hours. Once I’ve chosen what I want to talk about on the show, I find relevant areas of my programme where it will fit.
T: As Content Manager for Free Radio Herefordshire & Worcestershire my day begins at 6am. I’m up to hear the first half of Hursty & Helen, our weekday morning show, making any mental notes of what they’re doing whilst catching up on anything that’s happened overnight in terms of social media/news. I’m in the office and studio around 630am-645am. I manage the show, discussing the links in depth with the talent before we go to air. After the show we break and then reconvene for a meeting. We’ll throw around ideas, sometimes listen back to the show or to other stations. The rest of my day is spent forward planning, managing the other shows that come out of the building, drive time and weekend breakfast, and then working with the Commercial team helping them achieve our aims. That can range from meeting with clients, presentations or brainstorming. It’s never dull!

Andy and Tom
Andy Martindale (left) and Tom Reeves, co-presenting Creative Radio Skills Masterclass

4. What’s the best piece of advice you would give someone who wanted a career in radio?
A: Let the knock backs make you stronger. It is a very competitive industry. It’s not easy to get in. However, with determination and a desire to make it, you will!
T: One is about life in general and that is ‘To thine own self be true!’. For something a bit more specific to radio; be like Rihanna: “Work Work Work!” Nothing counts for more than work experience. Get to know people and the industry. It’ll never make you rich but it will give you a good time. It depends on your priorities in life!

5. If you weren’t working in radio, what would you be doing?
A: I’ve always wanted to own a farm! I love nature and the fresh air.
T: I have NO idea. I tried running my own business and well, let’s just say it’s not for me. This lecturing thing looks easy though…

6. What’s your favourite Film? Book? Record? A: I’m a huge admirer of Saving Private Ryan. is a film I could watch over and over again. Although I don’t read as much I should, I do listen to music lots. Mumford and Sons, Jack Garratt and Coldplay are some of my favourite artists.
T: Film? Close between Star Wars (any!), The Blues Brothers and The Shawshank Redemption. All great films for multiple reasons. Best book? Fiction? Anything by Ben Elton. Just the man with his finger on the pulse of the world for so long. I also love autobiographies: what people have done & gone through to get where they are is often better than any story. Slash, Richard Branson, Michael J Fox and Nelson Mandela’s all stand out. When it comes to music I’m a HUGE Aerosmith fan. If you ever get chance to see them live, grab it firmly with 2 hands – same applies to Coldplay. Third Eye Blind are also a hugely underrated American band full of anthemic emotion. Highly recommended.

7. Who would be your dream dinner party guests? And what would you cook them?
A: At the moment with Tim Peake being up in space, he would be first on my list. I could talk about space stuff forever. I think Adele would also be a brilliant dinner guest! I think I would have to cook them a homemade curry!
T: Richard Branson is a hero so he’s in. Tim Peake or Chris Hadfield – both hugely interesting astronauts! Ed Sheeran – as I’m sure he’d bring a bottle and bust out some tunes. Will Smith – he’s just an all round top guy! PLUS as many as my friends as I could get in. They’d love to meet them too and I think it’d be really interesting to see them all mix!
Cook? I do a mean spag bol (everyone likes that!) or a lamb kleftiko PLUS homemade garlic bread with homemade Welsh Cakes & ice cream for afters….I am SO hungry right now!!

Great advice from both Andy and Tom who have tons more to share with Masterclass attendees, having racked up over 25 years in the industry. At the end of the day in the studios you should have honed your skills and have a 3 minute demo to start sending out to industry as well. For more information on exactly what the Masterclass includes, times and venue please click the button!

Eventbrite - Creative Radio Skills for Producers and Presenters

Leave a comment